Wheel Horse Forum

It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:11 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:29 pm 

Hi,

Wheel Horse 500 Series Model No. 73501

I have just joined and would like some help resolving my Uni-Drive transmission problems. Under power, the unit will go forward 3/4's of a turn rotation of the rear wheel then bind. At that point you can put it in reverse and it will turn 3/4's of a rotation backward and bind. The fluid level is full. I have not drained the transmission fluid to see if any metal parts are in it. When I have the rear wheels jacked off the ground they spin freely without any resistance so I don't feel the problem is in the drive axles. I would appreciate any help or suggestions on what is causing the transmission failure.

Thanks,

Rjm

Last edited by Dick Myers on Wed Oct 08, 2008 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:55 pm 

I have no hydro experience but you can download a manual for the transaxle from
https://lookup3.toro.com/request/request.cfm
Enter your 73501 model number and select "Riding Mowers" for the product type.

Garry

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:56 pm 

The model number you've entered says you have a 520-H, 1993-1996 model.

Quote:
When I have the rear wheels jacked off the ground they spin freely without any resistance